temporary states

by Nariman Youssef

translated from poetic snippets by Rola al-Hussein

مقتطفات للشاعرة اللبنانية رولا الحسين

A temporary state
Your heart is in my hand
your bird is in my cage
my butterflies surround us.

وضع مؤقت
قلبك في يدي
عصفورك في قفصي
وفراشاتي تحوم حولنا.

Confession
I haven’t always been here.
Sometimes
I would enter a detail
and lose my way.

اعتراف
لم أكن دائماً هنا.
دخلت تفصيلاً
وتهتُ فيه.

Schism
The distance
between what I say and what I do
is wide enough to take another woman.

انفصام
المسافة
بين ما أقوله وما أفعله
تتسع لامرأة أخرى.

So you will return
Not for the sake of anyone
Nor to escape from anyone
You will return simply
because you have never left
because a white window
awaits you
to plant a fig tree underneath
Nevermind
that you don’t like figs.

For the shade alone you will return.

ستعودين إذاً
ليس لأجل أحد
ولا هرباً من أحد
ستعودين لأنك
لم ترحلي أبداً
ولأن شباكاً أبيضَ
ينتظرك
لتزرعي شجرة تين تحته
وكلانا يعرف
أنك لا تحبين التين ..


فقط لأجل الظل ستعودين.