treedom

by Nariman Youssef

from Azazel by Youssef Zeidan من عزازيل ليوسف زيدان –

Though it was not hot, I walked to the shaded corner, and in my usual place –to the right of the courtyard past the big gate—I rested the back of my head against the expansive tree, the tree that was closest to my heart… I was overcome by the exhaustion of one returning from a long journey. As I closed my eyes, I began to envision that I was becoming one with the tree. I felt my soul escape through my ribs and seep into the bark of the tree, descend into its deep roots and permeate its high branches. My whole being swayed with its leaves, pieces of me tumbled down with the leaves that fell to the ground. I then remembered something I had once read by Pythagoras, where he describes how in a moment of illumination, he remembered much of his previous lives. And in one of those lives his soul had belonged to a tree! I wished then that I would become a tree like this one, forever extending its shade, a fruitless tree that is not stoned for its fruit but simply loved for the shelter it gives. In this dry and arid land, if I were this tree I would receive with tenderness those who come seeking refuge in me; my shade would be a mercy that I bestow at no cost. [And if you need to hide, I will engulf you in my hair, the dark leaves growing out of my veins multiple and uncountable, the shade I throw over you expanding to hold your solitude.] I would be a haven for the weary, not for those who come seeking fruit [and not for those who come wielding an axe in search of a transient, burnable gain].*

لم يكن الجو حارا، غير أنني آويت إلى الركن الظليل. وعند موضعي المعتاد، بالجانب الأيمن من الساحة، بعد البوابة الكبيرة، أسندت مؤخرة رأسي إلى شجرتي الوارفة التي كانت أحب الشجرات هناك إلى قلبي.. غمرني إجهاد العائد من سفر طويل، ورحت أتوهّم بعدما أغمضت عيني، أنني صرت والشجرة كيانا واحدا. أحسست بروحي تنسحب من ضلوعي، فتتخلل جذع الشجرة، ثم تغوص في جذورها العميقة، وتتوغل في قلب فروعها العالية. كان كياني يتمايل مع أوراقها، ويتساقط بعضي مع سقوط الأوراق من أغصانها. تذكرت وقتها، ما قرأته في أخميم من شذرات فيثاغورث حيث يقول إنه تذكر في لحظة إشراق كثيرا من حيواته السابقة. منها حياة كانت روحه فيها شجرة! تمنيت ساعتها لو أصير شجرة مثل هذه، للأبد، شجرة وارفة الظلال وغير مثمرة، فلا تُرمى بالحجارة، وإنما تهواها القلوب لظلها. هذه البلاد قاحلة وجفافها شديد، فلو صرت هذه الشجرة سأحنو على الذين يستظلون بي، وسيكون ظلّي رحمة لهم أمنحها بلا مقابل. سأكون مأوىً للمنهكين، لا مطمعاً لطالبي الثمار.


* The translator took the liberty to personalise this passage for the reading pleasure of a friend with lumberjackin’ tendencies.